Important Notice from AspDotNetStorefront
It is with dismay that we report that we have been forced, through the action of hackers, to shut off write-access to this forum. We are keen to leave the wealth of material available to you for research. We have opened a new forum from which our community of users can seek help, support and advice from us and from each other. To post a new question to our community, please visit: http://forums.vortx.com

Thread: Fine tuning DB

vedran is offline Member

Default Fine tuning DB

Hello everyone,

I am not that experienced in SQL. I need to finetune StoredProcedure in order to boost site performance as much as possible. In the manuals I have seen this article:
    http://manual.aspdotnetstorefront.co...rge-sites.aspx

In it there is following text:
    These optimizations are best done by a skilled DBA

aspdnsf_GetProducts
    The aspdnsf_GetProducts stored procedure is used in all entity packages and implements every filter option that the store supports. This can make this procedure very expensive.

The first step is to remove the filter tables that are not needed. Below is the FROM clause from one of the queries in the procedure. If you are not using some of these table you can remove them from the query and remove the associated WHERE criteria.

FROM
    product p with (nolock)
    join #displayorder do on p.ProductID = do.ProductID
    left join ProductVariant pv with (NOLOCK) ON p.ProductID = pv.ProductID and pv.IsDefault >= @ViewType
    left join productcategory pc with (nolock) on p.ProductID = pc.ProductID
    left join productsection ps with (nolock) on p.ProductID = ps.ProductID
    left join ProductManufacturer pm with (nolock) on p.ProductID = pm.ProductID
    left join ProductDistributor pd with (nolock) on p.ProductID = pd.ProductID
    left join ProductGenre px with (nolock) on p.ProductID = px.ProductID
    left join ProductVector px2 with (nolock) on p.ProductID = px2.ProductID