Important Notice from AspDotNetStorefront
It is with dismay that we report that we have been forced, through the action of hackers, to shut off write-access to this forum. We are keen to leave the wealth of material available to you for research. We have opened a new forum from which our community of users can seek help, support and advice from us and from each other. To post a new question to our community, please visit: http://forums.vortx.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Product Dimensions with Special Charectors

  1. #1
    harsha.gus is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    301

    Exclamation Product Dimensions with Special Charectors

    Hi,
    i am wondering if we can enter the product dimensions with Special Characters like inch sign feet sign

    10"x20"x4'

    because all the product under a category are not in same measuring dimensions

    some are in feets some or in inches some are in millimeters

    so i am looking to make ti possible so that i can enter the dimensions in 10"x20"
    10'x20"

    10"x20mm

    20'x30yrds

    can any one tell me if i can do this.

    thanks
    rbgx
    AspDotNetStorefront ML
    v8.0.1.4

  2. #2
    esedirect is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Have you tried it? Dimensions is defined as nvarchar(100) so should take anything.

    If you are having problems, what are they?
    http://www.esedirect.co.uk
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Using MS 9.2.0.0 with the following customisations:

    Lightbox/Fancybox enlarged images;
    Auto-suggest searchbox;
    Extra product information shown only to our IP Address (such as supplier info, costs, etc.);
    Failed transactions emailed via trigger;
    Custom app to show basket contents when customer online;
    Orders pushed through to accounting systems.

    All the above without source!

  3. #3
    ASPAlfred is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,244

    Default

    Are you passing Dimensions (Is Ship Separately = yes) to UPS, Fedex, etc for shipping quotes or you just need to display the info in the product page, as shown below?
    Name:  dimension.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  38.3 KB

    Do you use Real-time or fixed shipping?

    P.S The standard "Unit of Meansurement" of dimensions is in cm.

  4. #4
    harsha.gus is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    301

    Exclamation not using (Is Ship Separately = yes)

    not using (Is Ship Separately = yes)

    Dimensions is defined as ntext not nvarchar(100)
    do you think it will work if i change it to nvarchar(100)

    right now the problem is if i enter 10"x10"x10' in dimensions field it will accept first time.
    if i edit the product info next time, in dimensions field instead of 10"x10"x10' it will appear as 10" x 10" x 10" and if we click on update,

    on the customer side in product information page dimensions will be displayed as 10" x 10" x 10"

    thats the problem i am facing.
    do you think it will work if i change it to nvarchar(100)


    thanks
    rbgx
    AspDotNetStorefront ML
    v8.0.1.4

  5. #5
    ASPAlfred is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,244

    Default

    ntext is OK, don't change anything in the DB except this:

    Open EntityEditProductVariant.aspx.cs, go to LoadContent() method, and locate this line:

    Code:
     txtDimensions.Text = Server.HtmlEncode(DB.RSField(rs, "Dimensions"));
    ...then change it to:
    Code:
    txtDimensions.Text = Server.HtmlDecode(DB.RSField(rs, "Dimensions"));
    Let me know if that works.

  6. #6
    harsha.gus is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    301

    Red face thanks a lot for helping me with this

    This is working
    thanks a lot for helping me with this
    rbgx
    AspDotNetStorefront ML
    v8.0.1.4