Important Notice from AspDotNetStorefront
It is with dismay that we report that we have been forced, through the action of hackers, to shut off write-access to this forum. We are keen to leave the wealth of material available to you for research. We have opened a new forum from which our community of users can seek help, support and advice from us and from each other. To post a new question to our community, please visit: http://forums.vortx.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: v8 - Manufacturer on Home Page

  1. #1
    Fean0r is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    145

    Default v8 - Manufacturer on Home Page

    Hi,

    I want to call one of my manufacturers into my home page, is there an easy way to do this?

    I've had no joyt finding anything in the manual / forums.

    I current have featured products and news load on the home page and all I want to do is display our "JS" manufacturer.

    Any help is appreciated!
    Version: ML 8.0.1.2 and No Source Code.

  2. #2
    esedirect is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Sounds like you need to create an XML package which brings back the products for that manufacturer only, and embed that package into however you're dealing with your homepage.
    http://www.esedirect.co.uk
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Using MS 9.2.0.0 with the following customisations:

    Lightbox/Fancybox enlarged images;
    Auto-suggest searchbox;
    Extra product information shown only to our IP Address (such as supplier info, costs, etc.);
    Failed transactions emailed via trigger;
    Custom app to show basket contents when customer online;
    Orders pushed through to accounting systems.

    All the above without source!

  3. #3
    Fean0r is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Yea I was looking at entity.gridwithprices.xml.config, I just can't figure out how to just simply point it to 1 manufacturer id, ie: 515
    Version: ML 8.0.1.2 and No Source Code.

  4. #4
    esedirect is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    343

    Default

    If that's the XML package you are using then you should change the <sql> query at the beginning of the package from:

    Code:
            <sql>
                <![CDATA[
                    exec dbo.aspdnsf_GetProducts 
                        @categoryID = @CatID,
                        @sectionID = @SecID,
                        @manufacturerID = @ManID,
                        @distributorID = @DistID,
                        @genreID = @GenreID,
                        @vectorID = @VectorID,
                        @localeName = @locale,
                        @CustomerLevelID = @CustLevelID,
                        @affiliateID = @AffID,
                        @ProductTypeID = @ProdTypeID, 
                        @ViewType = 1,
                        @pagenum = @pgnum,
                        @pagesize = null,
                        @StatsFirst = 0,
                        @publishedonly = 1,
                        @ExcludePacks = 0,
                        @ExcludeKits = 0,
                        @ExcludeSysProds = 0,
                        @InventoryFilter = @InvFilter,
                        @sortEntityName = @entityname
                ]]>
            </sql>
    to:
    Code:
            <sql>
                <![CDATA[
                    exec dbo.aspdnsf_GetProducts 
                        @categoryID = @CatID,
                        @sectionID = @SecID,
                        @manufacturerID = 515,
                        @distributorID = @DistID,
                        @genreID = @GenreID,
                        @vectorID = @VectorID,
                        @localeName = @locale,
                        @CustomerLevelID = @CustLevelID,
                        @affiliateID = @AffID,
                        @ProductTypeID = @ProdTypeID, 
                        @ViewType = 1,
                        @pagenum = @pgnum,
                        @pagesize = null,
                        @StatsFirst = 0,
                        @publishedonly = 1,
                        @ExcludePacks = 0,
                        @ExcludeKits = 0,
                        @ExcludeSysProds = 0,
                        @InventoryFilter = @InvFilter,
                        @sortEntityName = @entityname
                ]]>
            </sql>
    I recommend keeping a copy of the XML pacakge to revert to if it doesn't work out.
    http://www.esedirect.co.uk
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Using MS 9.2.0.0 with the following customisations:

    Lightbox/Fancybox enlarged images;
    Auto-suggest searchbox;
    Extra product information shown only to our IP Address (such as supplier info, costs, etc.);
    Failed transactions emailed via trigger;
    Custom app to show basket contents when customer online;
    Orders pushed through to accounting systems.

    All the above without source!

  5. #5
    Fean0r is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Esedirect,

    Thanks for the suggestion but it just errors out;

    C#/VB.NET Code:
    XmlPackage ExceptionException=Last Trace Point=[]. An error occurred during a call to extension function 'EntityPageHeaderDescription'See InnerException for a complete description of the error.

    Error Calling XSLTExtension Function EntityPageHeaderDescriptionInvalid value specified for EntityID ()


    System.ArgumentExceptionLast Trace Point=[]. An error occurred during a call to extension function 'EntityPageHeaderDescription'See InnerException for a complete description of the error.

    Error Calling XSLTExtension Function EntityPageHeaderDescriptionInvalid value specified for EntityID ()

    at AspDotNetStorefrontCore.XmlPackage2.TransformString() at AspDotNetStorefrontCore.AppLogic.RunXmlPackage(XmlPackage2 pParser UseParserCustomer ThisCustomerInt32 SkinIDBoolean ReplaceTokensBoolean WriteExceptionMessage
    doh!
    Last edited by Fean0r; 12-14-2010 at 08:07 AM. Reason: typo
    Version: ML 8.0.1.2 and No Source Code.

  6. #6
    esedirect is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Does the package work without that mod?
    http://www.esedirect.co.uk
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Using MS 9.2.0.0 with the following customisations:

    Lightbox/Fancybox enlarged images;
    Auto-suggest searchbox;
    Extra product information shown only to our IP Address (such as supplier info, costs, etc.);
    Failed transactions emailed via trigger;
    Custom app to show basket contents when customer online;
    Orders pushed through to accounting systems.

    All the above without source!

  7. #7
    Fean0r is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    145

    Default

    ahh it's the same error either way which seems to work back to EntityID which I can't see getting set on the page.
    Version: ML 8.0.1.2 and No Source Code.

  8. #8
    esedirect is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Well if the package doesn't work in the first place, it's not a good place to start from!
    http://www.esedirect.co.uk
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Using MS 9.2.0.0 with the following customisations:

    Lightbox/Fancybox enlarged images;
    Auto-suggest searchbox;
    Extra product information shown only to our IP Address (such as supplier info, costs, etc.);
    Failed transactions emailed via trigger;
    Custom app to show basket contents when customer online;
    Orders pushed through to accounting systems.

    All the above without source!