Important Notice from AspDotNetStorefront
It is with dismay that we report that we have been forced, through the action of hackers, to shut off write-access to this forum. We are keen to leave the wealth of material available to you for research. We have opened a new forum from which our community of users can seek help, support and advice from us and from each other. To post a new question to our community, please visit: http://forums.vortx.com
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Variants in DropDown javascript error

  1. #1
    cfwebmasters is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default Variants in DropDown javascript error

    It appears that the 9.0.1.2 of storefront is using a snippet of javascript code from the old version of storefront:

    Code:
    function SetCartVariant(selValue){
                            //alert("AddToCartForm_"+prodid+"_"+varid);
                            var theForm = document.forms["AddToCartForm__5"];
                            if(selValue==''){
                                alert('Please select a variant to add to the cart'); 
                                return false;
                            }
                            else {
                                theForm.VariantID.value=selValue;
                                VariantMinimumQty__5 = VarMinQty[selValue];
                                SelectedVariantInventory__5 = VarInventory[selValue];
                            }
                        }
    There is no object: document.forms["AddToCartForm__5"] on this page. The only form is the top-level form on the master page document.forms["aspnetForm"].

    If I override this function with my own function in the product page template, the error does not occur.

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    		function SetCartVariant(selValue){
    			var theForm = document.forms["aspnetForm"];
    			if(selValue==''){
    				alert('Please select a variant to add to the cart'); 
    				return false;
    			}
    			else {
    				var $variantID = jQuery('input:hidden[id*="VariantID_"]');
    				if($variantID.length>0){ $variantID.val(selValue); }
    				//theForm.VariantID.value=selValue;
    				VariantMinimumQty__5 = VarMinQty[selValue];
    				SelectedVariantInventory__5 = VarInventory[selValue];
    			}
    		}
    	</script>
    I used jQuery to locate the hidden input field with the correct ID, since the current version of this function is specifying "theForm.VariantID" which also does not exist.

    In addition, it seems no matter what variant you select from the drop down, the only one that gets added to the cart is the default variant.

  2. #2
    AspDotNetStorefront Staff - Scott's Avatar
    AspDotNetStorefront Staff - Scott is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ashland, OR
    Posts
    2,390

    Default

    That's been corrected here, the fix'll be included in the 9.0.1.3 release that should be out this week.

  3. #3
    dayhawk is offline Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Scott,

    I have the 9.0.1.3 code as pasted below, but I am unable to add any variant other than the default variant. Are there settings I should look at, maybe? - Thanks!

    Code:
                    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
                        var VarMinQty = new Array();
                        var VarInventory = new Array();
                        <xsl:for-each select="/root/ProductVariants/Variant">
                          <xsl:choose>
                            <xsl:when test="MinimumQuantity &gt; 0">
                              VarMinQty[<xsl:value-of select="VariantID" />] = <xsl:value-of select="MinimumQuantity" />;
                            </xsl:when>
                            <xsl:otherwise>
                              VarMinQty[<xsl:value-of select="VariantID" />] = 1;
                            </xsl:otherwise>
                          </xsl:choose>
                          VarInventory[<xsl:value-of select="VariantID" />] = <xsl:value-of select="Inventory" />;
                        </xsl:for-each>
    
                        function SetCartVariant(selValue){
                            //alert("AddToCartForm_"+prodid+"_"+varid);
                            var theForm = document.forms["aspnetForm"];
                            if(selValue==''){
                                alert('Please select a variant to add to the cart');
                                return false;
                            }
                            else {
                                theForm.VariantID_<xsl:value-of select="/root/Products/Product/ProductID" />_<xsl:value-of select="$defaultVariant" />.value=selValue;
                                VariantMinimumQty_<xsl:value-of select="/root/Products/Product/ProductID" />_<xsl:value-of select="$defaultVariant" /> = VarMinQty[selValue];
                                SelectedVariantInventory_<xsl:value-of select="/root/Products/Product/ProductID" />_<xsl:value-of select="$defaultVariant" /> = VarInventory[selValue];
                            }
                        }
                        SelectedVariantInventory_<xsl:value-of select="/root/Products/Product/ProductID" />_<xsl:value-of select="$defaultVariant" /> = VarInventory[<xsl:value-of select="$defaultVariant" />];
                    </SCRIPT>

  4. #4
    ssgumby is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    683

    Default

    Bizzare, i'm having the same issue in 9.0.1.3 and submitted a support ticket

  5. #5
    dayhawk is offline Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Any updates to this issue? We would like to start beta testing shortly with variants in dropdown.

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    webopius is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    440

    Default

    Hi all

    We have a 9.0.1.3 install along with products containing more than one variant. In this site, AddToCart does allow the individual variants to be added correctly to the cart.

    All we did was to take the standard 'product.SimpleVariantFormat2.xml' and change the design to match the site - making sure the AddToCart call received the correct variantid.

    If you don't mind sending/posting the full XML package for the page at fault, I'm happy to take a quick look.

    Adam

  7. #7
    dayhawk is offline Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Is anyone else experiencing similar issues?

    [UPDATE: 20100804]

    So far we have traced the issue to the Ajax Mini Cart. When the mini cart is turned off, and customers are sent to the checkout page by default, the correct variant is added to cart.
    Last edited by dayhawk; 08-04-2010 at 01:16 PM. Reason: Update
    MSx 9.2, SQL Server 2005, Windows 2008 R2 Web 64-Bit

  8. #8
    asaeed is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    To resolve this issue, first you need to make the changes you specified above to the XML package, then you need to change the following line in ASPDNSFCore\ShoppingCart.cs, (FromForm method):

    nfo.VariantId = variantId;

    to

    nfo.VariantId = CommonLogic.FormNativeInt(string.Format("VariantID _{0}_{1}", productId, variantId));

    This will capture the selected option's value from the dropdown. But I haven't tested how this would affect other add-to-cart scenarios, but it works in this case.

    Hope this makes sense.

    Regards,

  9. #9
    davidcfox is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Has this issue been resolved?

    We are using ASPDNSF 9.0.1.3 and the VariantsInDropDown Xml Package is not working for us either.

    I can add each of the different variants to the shopping cart, but I am unable to set a quantity for any variant except the default variant. All other variants only add a quantity of "1" to the cart regardless of what is entered into the Quantity text box.

    Any assistance in helping us to get this XML package working properly would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you.

  10. #10
    AspDotNetStorefront Staff - Scott's Avatar
    AspDotNetStorefront Staff - Scott is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ashland, OR
    Posts
    2,390

    Default

    Several folks have posted workarounds/fixes here that will correct the issue, if you have the source code. You can also install the Service Pack for 9.0.1.3, which has a fix for that issue built in.