Important Notice from AspDotNetStorefront
It is with dismay that we report that we have been forced, through the action of hackers, to shut off write-access to this forum. We are keen to leave the wealth of material available to you for research. We have opened a new forum from which our community of users can seek help, support and advice from us and from each other. To post a new question to our community, please visit: http://forums.vortx.com

Thread: Start categories menu at second level

Scott_LeWarne is offline Junior Member

Default Start categories menu at second level

Hi,
    I am new to using the built-in category browser implemented via the rev.categories package and I'm wondering if anyone can help me figure out how to do what I'm trying to do. My xsl is getting better, but far from expert.

We find that certain types of custom reporting are easier when we put all of our categories under a single root parent category, we call it Products. The problem with doing that is that the category browser only shows that one category, Products, when collapsed and I want the users to be able to see the second level (my root) categories.

So my question is how to modify it so that it starts at the second level, underneath Products? I still want it to function just the same as if the second level was the root and I had created those cats at the root level. Is this possible?

Thanks
    Scott LeWarne
    NW Websouce
    scott@nw-websource.com

Jao is offline Senior Member

Well, the easiest way would be to create a Product as the root category, then map all your categories under it. Please feel free to correct me if I seem to misunderstood it...

Scott_LeWarne is offline Junior Member

That's what I've done.