Important Notice from AspDotNetStorefront
It is with dismay that we report that we have been forced, through the action of hackers, to shut off write-access to this forum. We are keen to leave the wealth of material available to you for research. We have opened a new forum from which our community of users can seek help, support and advice from us and from each other. To post a new question to our community, please visit: http://forums.vortx.com
Results 1 to 44 of 44

Thread: Tabbed XML

  1. #1
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default Tabbed XML

    Hi,

    http://manual.aspdotnetstorefront.co...l-package.aspx The screen shot shown at this link has the tabbed template but when I use the product.tabbedui.xml.config, it shows them like ordered list. How can I make it look like tabs? Let me know. Thanks.

    Ram

  2. #2
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    Please make sure that you have TabbedUI style elements defined on the {root}/skins/Skin_#/style.css. I believe your site is an upgraded one, extract the installer somewhere, then open the above mentioned CSS file, then copy the TabbedUI prototypes and paste them on the current skin you're using.

  3. #3
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    I copied the TabbedUI prototypes to the .css file but still no change. What else should I do to make it work?

    In the tabbedUI XML package, there is a line <ul id="productTabs" class="shadetabs">, but I don't see 'productTabs' and 'shadetabs' in the css file.

  4. #4
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    This is not present out of the box. The CSS elements that are defined on the default copy of product.tabbedUI.xml.config are pagetabs and tabcontent only. Maybe your copy of such file was modified and someone might have added those IDs.

  5. #5
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    I was using the old TabbedUI.xml.config file. It works now! Thanks.

  6. #6
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    One more question, I need to modify the code for Related Products and Upsell Products. Where can I find the code? Thanks.

  7. #7
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    You should be able to find it under {root}/XmlPackages folder. Each has their own xmlpackage: relatedproducts.xml.config and upsellproducts.xml.config

  8. #8
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Thank you.

  9. #9
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    What is the difference between Upsell Products and Related Products?

  10. #10
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    Upsell products somewhat poses a strategy of convincing the customer to purchase another product that is higher in value and quality to the product that the customer is trying to purchase for the time being, while related products are those which are, in some way has a similarity like for instance you have a bike product, its related products could be motorcycle peripherals, stuff related to it; however, both give store admins the ability to cross-sell or recommend additional products to their customers.

  11. #11
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Thank you.

  12. #12
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Which XML package does the shopping cart use? Thanks.

  13. #13
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    It doesn't use an xmlpackage, but a web form (shoppingcart.aspx page) and a code-behind file.

  14. #14
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    I have customized the tabbed XML package and it works quite nicely in Firefox but when I open it in IE it completely mangles the whole layout. How can I make it compatible to IE as well? Could anyone help me with this? Thanks.
    Last edited by ram; 07-28-2009 at 07:35 AM.

  15. #15
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    Could you please attach a screen shot of what you see?

  16. #16
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    I have attached both Firefox and IE screen shots. The issues I'm having in IE are

    1. The table border (bottom) is missing in IE.
    2. I'm using Red color for Active tab and blue color for non-active tab but when i change the tab from one active tab to another, the color doesn't change.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  17. #17
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Any update?

  18. #18
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    Please check the following prototypes on style.css:
    #pagetabs a
    #pagetabs a:hover
    #pagetabs a.activetab

    specifically on background element. These mainly affects tab strip's display.

  19. #19
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    I know these prototypes cause the error but could you give me a solution?

  20. #20
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    I believe you modified it on your side. Could you please post your element's definition for each prototype?

  21. #21
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    #pagetabs a
    {
    background: white url(images/tab_out.gif) top left repeat-x;
    background-color: #DDDDDD;
    border-left: solid 1px black;
    border-top: solid 1px black;
    border-right: solid 1px black;
    color: #FFFFCC;
    padding: 5px 5px 0px 5px;
    position:relative;
    margin-right:3px;
    text-decoration: none;
    vertical-align:middle;

    }

    #pagetabs a:hover
    {
    text-decoration: underline;
    color: #ffffff;
    background: white url(images/tab_over1.png) top left repeat-x;
    }

    #pagetabs a.activetab
    {
    padding: 5px 5px 1px 5px;
    position: relative;
    top: 1px;
    color: #ffffff;
    background: red;
    border-bottom-color: white;
    }

  22. #22
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    Could you please reset back the background element of the #pagetabs a:hover prototype to its original state?

    Code:
    background: white url(images/tab_over.gif) top left repeat-x;
    Everything works perfectly on my local end. This is worth a try.

  23. #23
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Still NO. Not on IE. Did you try on IE? Try changing tabs in IE and you will see the color not changing. Also, there is no border (bottom).

  24. #24
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    Yes, I tried it on IE, FF and Chrome and all has similar results. What's the version of your IE?

  25. #25
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Which version should I use? 8?

  26. #26
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Please reply. Which version should I use?

  27. #27
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    I'm using version 7 and it works perfectly fine.

  28. #28
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Can you post the code you are using? Thanks.

  29. #29
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    We can't post the entire codes for security reason; however, this is just a sort of snippet of prototypes for Tabbed UI:
    Code:
    #pagetabs
    {
    	width: 100%;	
    }
    
    #pagetabs a
    {
    	background: white url(images/tab_out.gif) top left repeat-x;
    	background-color: #DDDDDD;
    	border-left: solid 1px black;
    	border-top: solid 1px black;
    	border-right: solid 1px black;
    	color: #696969;
    	padding: 5px 5px 0px 5px;
    	position:relative;
    	margin-right:3px;
    	text-decoration: none;
    	vertical-align:middle;
    }
    
    #pagetabs a:hover
    {
    	text-decoration: underline;
    	/*color: #ffffff;*/
    	color:Black;
    	font-weight:bold;
    	background: white url(images/tab_over.gif) top left repeat-x;
    }
    
    #pagetabs a.activetab
    {
    	padding: 5px 5px 1px 5px;
    	position: relative;
    	top: 1px;
    	color: #ffffff;
    	/*background-image: url(images/tab_over.gif);*/
    	background:red;
    	border-bottom-color: white;
    }
    
    #pagetabs a.activetab:hover
    {
    	text-decoration: none;
    }
    
    #tabcontent
    {
    	border: solid 1px gray;
    	margin:0px;	
    	padding-top:0px;
    	padding-bottom: 10px;
    	width:100%;
    }
    
    #tabcontent div.hiddenTab
    {
    	display:none;
    }
    
    #tabcontent div.selectedTab
    {
    	display:block;
    }

  30. #30
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Thanks but for some reason it doesn't work on IE still. It's perfectly fine in FireFox and Chrome. Attached image is the result I'm getting on IE.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  31. #31
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    How have you called the two Javascript functions inside the TabbedUI.XML Package? I think that's where I'm having the error. Thanks.

  32. #32
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    This is not a CSS issue anymore. The tabbedui.js from the {root}/jscripts might have been inadvertently changed. Extract the installer and copy the stock javascript file and upload it to the mentioned file path and try again.

  33. #33
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Still no. I think the error is somewhere here.

    <script type="text/javascript" language="Javascript" >
    TabbedUI.prototype.initialize();
    </script>

  34. #34
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    Yes, the initialize method of the TabbedUI function lies on that javascript: tabbedui.js. That's why that line won't cause an issue if the tabbedui.js content is okay.

  35. #35
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Okay, now I don't get that error. If you don't mind, would you be able to post a snapshot of your tabbed result (IE)?

  36. #36
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    Attached is my tabbed UI displays. a.active color= red, a.hover color = lime:

    Similar result for Chrome, Safari, FF, IE.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  37. #37
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Thanks. Is there any way that I could see your Tabbed.XML Package code?

    I'm getting the following erros:

    Line: 185
    Error: Object expected
    Line 185 is ComponentArt_Menu_InitKeyboard(PageMenu);

    Line: 188
    Error: Object doesn't support this property or method
    Line 188 is ComponentArt_Init_PageMenu();
    Last edited by ram; 08-04-2009 at 01:35 PM.

  38. #38
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    I'm afraid we can't provide you the entire code you need; however, it seems that you have problem loading the component art. The least you can do is revert back the {root}/skins/Skin_#/componentart_webui_client folder from a newly extracted installer.

  39. #39
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Okay, I will try that and let you know. Thanks for all your help.

  40. #40
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    I checked the newly extracted installer, the componentart_webui_client folder is under skins folder but your path shows it under skins/Skin_#. Let me know which one is correct. Also, should I also include the 2007_1_1590 folder?

  41. #41
    Jao is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    My sincere apologies. It should be {root}/skins folder and yes, 2007_1_1590 should also be included

  42. #42
    ram is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Can you give some code at least, if not, the entire code?

  43. #43
    jsimacek is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    373

    Default

    There are other ways to make tabbed XmlPackages too which don't involve javascript libraries. If you would like a custom Tabbed XmlPackage done, contact Jan at jsimacek@compunix.us.

    Some samples:
    - http://www.hcibooks.com/p-3809-i-don...-be-happy.aspx
    - http://www.ecommercecartmods.com/p-1...torefront.aspx
    Jan Simacek - Compunix, LLC
    AspDotNetStorefront trusted Devnet Partner and Reseller since 2005

    AspDotNetStorefront Mods and Add-Ons at http://www.ecommercecartmods.com/
    - Searching, Filtering and Sorting (like cSearch, Dealer Locator, Price Ranges, Blog)
    - Reports (like Cart Abandonment and Net Sales)
    - Customer Experience (like Question/Answers)
    - Site and Data Management (like Entity Product Mapper, Bulk Updaters, Make/Model/Year filters)

  44. #44
    mitian33 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I can't find the style for tabbed ui for product pages. Can you please guide me on where i can find the style for tabbed ui.?