Important Notice from AspDotNetStorefront
It is with dismay that we report that we have been forced, through the action of hackers, to shut off write-access to this forum. We are keen to leave the wealth of material available to you for research. We have opened a new forum from which our community of users can seek help, support and advice from us and from each other. To post a new question to our community, please visit: http://forums.vortx.com
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: modify ComponentArt:Menu to change category text to upper case

  1. #1
    HenryTheHorse is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default modify ComponentArt:Menu to change category text to upper case

    My category navigation (using "(!menu.Categories0!)" in menuData.xml) works great except that my parent category names shown on the top are too long. Also, I want to show the text in upper case. For example, if my category is titled:
    Small Cars & Large Trucks

    I want my TopMenuItem to show it as:
    SMALL CARS &
    LARGE TRUCKS

    Notice that the category name is continued on the next line to make it shorter (I'm showing tabs for these) but taller.

    How can I achieve this? Is there just a setting I can change on the ComponentArt:Menu control itself or do I need to change the code somehow? If so, where?

  2. #2
    Alkaline is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    459

    Default

    you can do this via CSS:

    text-transform: lowercase; /* force text to lowercase */
    text-transform: uppercase; /* force text to uppercase */
    text-transform: capitalize; /* force text to proper case */

    Find the class you need to apply this to

  3. #3
    HenryTheHorse is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default 2 lines

    Thanks. I figured this out already. However, I need to separate the text into 2 lines (need to put a <br> after the first word). When I added "&lt;BR /&gt;" to the text part of the MenuItem, it doesn't split up the name in HTML..."&lt;BR /&gt;" actually gets displayed on the page!!! How can I get the Text of the MenuItem to render properly?

  4. #4
    activee is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default component art menu - nobr

    I would like to know how to make the menu items into multiple lines. There are <nobr> tags around the menu items in the component art menu - how can they be removed?
    Last edited by activee; 10-13-2008 at 07:38 AM.

  5. #5
    George the Great is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    1,792

    Default

    The horizontal top menu or the vertical side menu? Which skin are you using, or if you are using a custom skin which default skin did you mimic?
    <a href="http://www.aspdotnetstorefront.com">Shopping Cart Software</a>

  6. #6
    activee is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    The horizontal top menu.
    It is a custom skin using <ComponentArt:Menu id="PageMenu" mimicking skin_1

  7. #7
    activee is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Anyone know how to remove <nobr> from the topmenu

  8. #8
    kaezr is offline Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by activee View Post
    Anyone know how to remove <nobr> from the topmenu
    i had to modify 2 files in
    Code:
    skins\componentart_webui_client\[your_CA_version]
    Code:
    A573R388.js
    ComponentArt.Web.UI.Menu.client_scripts.A573R388.js
    i replaced all the occurencies of nobr with span

    ps. i also changed the css..
    TopMenuItem,TopMenuItem:hover height to 30px and line-height to 18px;
    Last edited by kaezr; 05-19-2010 at 08:42 AM.
    Running AspDotNetStorefront ML 8.0.1.4